

Legislation Text

File #: 18-0312, Version: 1

## ITEM TITLE: Appointment of Members to Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee SUBMITTED BY: Sheri L. Pierce, MMC, City Clerk

## FISCAL NOTES:

Expenditure Required: Click here to enter text. Unencumbered Balance: Click here to enter text. Funding Source: Click here to enter text.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Click here to enter text.

## SUMMARY STATEMENT:

The City has solicited applications from citizens interested in serving on the Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee. Committee members will serve in an ad-hoc capacity to function as a working group in the process of developing the City Comprehensive Plan. The members will meet as a group monthly during the Comp Plan preparation process for approximately 9 to 12 months. Meetings will be facilitated by Kimley Horn and will be conducted both in person when Kimley Horn is in Valdez and by conference call in the intervening months. Members will serve on the CPAC through the completion of the Comprehensive Plan.

Members will be tasked with:

- Participating in workshop style meetings to review and discuss the proposed goals, objectives, and policies proposed in the plan.
- Provide feedback to in-progress work documents
- Serve as ambassadors for the process in the community
- Provide recommendations to the Planning and Zoning Commission and City Council

We have received 12 applications from citizens interested in serving on the CPAC Committee. Current members of the Economic Development Commission will automatically become members of the CPAC, bringing the total number of members to 18 should the city council wish to appoint all citizens who have expressed an interest to serve. Kimley-Horn has suggested the committee be composed of 9-13 members, however after speaking with Mr. Chen today he expressed no objection to expansion of the committee to 18 should council wish to accept all applications. Representatives of Kimley-Horn will be attending the council meeting via teleconference to answer any questions council may have regarding the formation of this committee.

The following have submitted letters of interest which are submitted as attachments:

Mike Wells Donna Schantz Angela Alfaro Dahlia O'Neil John Engles Jesse Passin James Dunn Jeremy Robida Rod Morrison Jessica McCay Mary Jo Evans Kathy Nielson

Current Economic Development Members:

Susan Love Rhonda Wade Colleen Stephens Lee Hart Keith Thomas Grant Uren